Thinking of selling or buying?

Find out what sets us apart. Your personal broker, right here in Northport! Call us today: 631-686-4724

Visit our website

Over 80 students presented scholarships at Northport High School senior awards

Schools June 12, 2022

IB Coordinator and teacher Anna Kessler presents the David Trachtenberg Memorial Scholarship award to senior Jennifer Weigand. Photo courtesy of the Northport-East Northport school district.

The 50th Annual Senior Awards Ceremony at Northport High School recognized last week over 80 students awarded various scholarships from community members and local organizations. This special event honors high schoolers who have been active in their school and their community while displaying tremendous spirit and resiliency.

Awards were presented by members of administration, including Principal Robert Dennis and Superintendent of Schools Robert Banzer. Scholarships ranged from $100 up to thousands for students continuing their education or entering the armed forces. Students had to apply for each scholarship, most of which required essays and had various criteria for selecting winners.

Principal Dennis emphasized how a students’ successes depend on the support of families, community and teachers; at the end of the event, the district recognized 88 teachers and staff selected as “Staff Members Who Made a Difference.”

Senior Award Scholarship Winners:

  • United States Army ROTC Scholarship: Miles Lerner, Philip Greenwood
  • United States Army: Kyle Waszczak, James Weaver
  • United States Air Force: Anthony Randazzo
  • U.S Coast Guard Academy Scholars Program Appointment: Thomas Butler
  • United States Marines: Andrew Canales
  • United States Navy ROTC: Connor Burns
  • Kenneth Losey Education Award: Christina Brocato
  • Northport American Legion “Americanism” Award: Renee Cormier, Liam Mickulas-Mesco, Franklin Noonan, Calder Raio, Chloe Reilly, Kurt ="ltr"> Rose Ann Madiou Memorial Scholarship: Madeleine Cierski

  • Bards Poetry Scholarship: Ella Campbell, Harrison LeBow
  • Gifted & Talented Parents’ Association Scholarship: Michael Torres
  • Fifth Ave School PTA W.I.N.G.S. Scholarship: Brandon Meiner, Corinne Wolk
  • Joan Baltman Memorial Scholarship: Liam Mickulas-Mesco
  • Nathan Bruckenthal Memorial Scholarship: Michael Monda
  • Mrs. Irene Taylor Memorial Scholarship: Skyla Fabbricante, Makenzie Mueller
  • Bellerose Avenue Alumni-Jeffrey Conner Memorial Scholarship: Christian Amorosa
  • Memorial Scholarships of the Retired-United Teachers of Northport:
    • The Irene Eckert Memorial Scholarship: Kailey Maloney

    • The Hank Kasven Memorial Scholarship: Olivia DeFeo

    • The Retired Teachers of Northport Memorial Scholarship: Isabella Ingraldi

  • SEPTA Achievement Award: Eleanor Noonan
  • SEPTA Achievement Scholarships, Donated By Huntington Ancient Order of Hibernians, Division IV: Louis DeSario, John Giuffre
  • Future Special Educator Award: Isabella Germani
  • East Northport Middle School PTSA Tiger Pride Scholarship: Brandon Meiner, Carlin Overton
  • Jacqueline Kerrigan Memorial Scholarship: Thomas Butler, Andrew Canales
  • Pulaski Road PTA P.R.I.D.E. Scholarship: Patrick Hines, Justin Marques
  • Dr. William J. Brosnan Scholarship: James Graziano
  • Northport High School PTSA Scholarship: Kellen Ryan, Patrick Hines, Jake Zarko
  • Dickinson Avenue Alumni Scholarship: Stefany Jimenez, Abigail Uhrin
  • Robert Rothar Memorial Scholarship: Jack Breckling
  • Judith P. Tracy Memorial Scholarship: Mackenzie Vallas
  • Robert Stokes Memorial Scholarship: Allison Reid
  • David A. Trachtenberg Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer Weigand
  • Richard W. Streb Memorial Scholarship: Philip Greenwood, Harrison LeBow
  • SCOPE Scholarship: Genevieve Kestler-DeWan
  • Northport Middle School PTSA Scholarship: Kellen Ryan, Abigail Uhrin
  • Norwood Avenue School PTA, Denise Nicolosi Memorial Scholarship: Tristen Reilly, Kellen Ryan
  • Robert Lichtenstein Memorial Scholarship: Karl Leonard
  • Veronica Franco Memorial Scholarship: Miles Lerner, Ava Pearlman
  • Northport-East Northport Clerical Union and Office Staff Association Scholarship: Dylan McNaughton, Carlin Overton
  • Caleb Paquet Memorial Scholarship: Artiom Charland, Eric Heinecker
  • Michael R. Dunat Memorial Scholarship: John Giuffre
  • Northport/East Npt. Teacher Aide Scholarship: Kelly Holden, Karina Jimenez
  • Ocean Avenue School PTA Scholarship: John Corr, Karl Leonard
  • Northport-East Northport PTA Council Scholarship: Lisa Kovacs, Patrick Sweeney
  • Leslie Spanko Memorial Scholarship: Harrison LeBow
  • Stephen A. Rigos Memorial Scholarship: John Giuffre
  • Kathleen “Cookie” Amato Nursing Scholarship: Chloe Reilly
  • Kathleen “Cookie” Amato Memorial Scholarship: Liam Mickulas-Mesco
  • Ramon Guerrero Memorial Marching Band Scholarship: Juliette Bonchonsky
  • Happy School Bus Scholarship: Ashley Dawson, Shane McGlone
  • East Northport Rotary Club-Fred Marin Scholarship: Soraya Basrai, Logan Burkart
  • Visiting Nurse Service & Hospice of Suffolk - Helen Strobl Memorial Scholarship: Colleen Conroy
  • Northport Chamber of Commerce Joseph A. Pidal Jr. Scholarship: Alexa Shekian
  • Steven G. Carr Memorial: Andrew Carlson
  • Lieutenant Commander Christopher C. Tragna Memorial Scholarship: Katelyn Trainor
  • You Gotta Have "FRIENNDS" Scholarship: Ava Lynch, Justin Marques, Michael Monda, Carlin Overton, Calder Raio
  • Marine Corporal Christopher G. Scherer Memorial Scholarship: James Weaver
  • Corporal Scherer Marine Scholarship: Andrew Canales
  • United Teachers of Northport Scholarship: Christina Brocato, Ella McGorry, Raymond Moreno, Connor Simmons, Heather Tuohy
  • Cynthia M. Spina Memorial Scholarship: Amelia Bernhard
  • Joseph P. Fazio Memorial Scholarship: Eleanor Noonan
  • ELC Carole Gandy Memorial Scholarship: Kayley Brummel
  • Asharoken Garden Club Scholarship: Calder Raio
  • Charles and Helen Reichert Family Foundation Scholarship: Catherine Conlin
  • Ft. Salonga Market (IGA) Richard G. Costello Memorial Scholarship: Francesca Molesso
  • Lillian S. Brueggemann Educational Scholarship: Emily Sylvanus
  • Northport Rotary Scholarships:
    • Rotary “Service Above Self” Scholarship: Dorant Esty

    • Rotary Interact/RYLA Scholarship: Stefany Jimenez

  • Northport-East Northport Kiwanis Club Scholarships:
    • Donald F. Hewson Scholarship: John Giuffre

    • John Ryder Scholarship: Nisanur Demiroglu

    • James Loomer Scholarship: Mackenzie Vallas

    • William H. Kelly Good Citizenship Award: Michael Monda

  • Richard Becher Safety in Sports Scholarship: Dylan McNaughton, Ava Pearlman
  • The Ericson Family Fund Scholarship: Esther Loring
  • Henrietta F. Ackerly Memorial Scholarship: Bryan Avila, Andrew Carlson, Victoria Cipollino, Olivia Jaworski, Kelly Kropp, Rachel , Olivia Slevin, Grace Wertheimer, Hayley Zaharis

  • Great Cow Harbor 10K Run Scholarship: Miles Lerner, Allison Reid
  • Louis J. Acompora Memorial Scholarship Winner: Miles Lerner; Finalists: Lisa Kovacs, Madison McLoughlin, Jennifer Weigand
  • The Nursing Scholarship: Soraya Basrai, Colleen Conroy, Erin Gibbons, Iveth Granados, Allison Reid, Chloe Reilly, Jonathan Yuen

Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Irene McLaughlin presents the Happy School Bus Scholarships to Ashley Dawson and Shane McGlone. Photo courtesy of the Northport-East Northport school district.

John and Karen Acompora present the Louis J. Acompora Memorial Scholarship to winner Miles Lerner. Photo courtesy of the Northport-East Northport school district.